Slice of Life: Gifu Kitagawa Apartments

Today I biked around and came across this apartment community nearby. Take a look – Does it look like somewhere you might want to live? What words come to mind?:

GIfu Prefecture, Apartments Gifu, Housing Projects GIfu Prefecture, Apartments Gifu, Housing Projects Japan GIfu Prefecture, Apartments Gifu, Housing Projects Japan GIfu Prefecture, Apartments Gifu, Housing Projects Japan GIfu Prefecture, Apartments Gifu, Housing Projects Japan GIfu Prefecture, Apartments Gifu, Housing Projects Japapn

Pretty nice, right?!

Now, what words come to mind when you hear ‘public housing’? Would you believe that these are government housing projects? (Chicago people: such as the now defunct Cabrini Green, etc.)

A week or two ago I was taking part in one of my hobbies – looking for apartments that I’m not in the market to rent! I couldn’t find too much interesting information online, but I stumbled upon this website about a government housing project in the area, and I thought it was so interesting! A few days later, I realized just how close it really was, and on my morning bike ride today I took a quick ride through the project (something I would probably not have done in any Chicago housing projects).

I couldn’t believe the difference between my home city’s housing projects and this one in Japan. It was amazing: clean, safe, happy, & bright. There’s lots of trees, bushes, flowers, nice public space to walk around and enjoy the outdoors…

There’s a kindergarten on the end of the property with the sounds of kids playing outside and some women (besides the teachers) sweeping the grounds. They greeted me with a cheerful ‘Ohaiyo Gozaimasu!’ & a smile as they moved to one side of the walkway so I could pass more easily.

Of course, this all has a lot to do with how safe Japan is overall, but even the structures are normal looking – if I didn’t already know these were government housing projects, I would not have guessed it was so. They seem like apartments that residents can be proud of. As someone who regularly saw Chicago’s public housing projects in the background on a regular basis, I really find this whole community super interesting.

What do you think?

